First Up
Photo Credit: Eric Francis

Six Nebraska Baseball Players Earn Big Ten Honors

May 23, 2017

In addition to Darin Erstad being named Big Ten Coach of the Year, six Huskers also earned Big Ten honors on Tuesday. That included Jake Meyers (utility) and Scott Schreiber (designated hitter) who were both first-team picks.

Angelo Altavilla (shortstop) and Jake Hohensee (starting pitcher) were also honored, being selected as third-team choices. Third baseman Luke Roskam was the unanimous pick for the All-Freshman team and Ben Miller received Nebraska’s Sportsmanship Award.

This is Schreiber’s second straight year earning first-team honors and is the first Husker to earn first-team honors in consecutive seasons since Pat Kelly. As for Meyers, he moved from third-team choice in the outfield for 2016 to first-team honors this year for his work as both a position player and Nebraska’s Sunday starter. During Big Ten play, Meyers led Nebraska to a 7-0-1 record when he was on the mound.

Nebraska’s 2017 All-Big Ten Award Winners

Coach of the Year
: Darin Erstad
First Team
: Jake Meyers – Utility
, Scott Schreiber – DH
Third Team
: Angelo Altavilla – SS, 
Jake Hohensee – SP

All-Freshman Team
: Luke Roskam – 3B
Sportsmanship Award
: Ben Miller

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap