Coming soon!

We're taking a short break while we put the finishing touches on a fresh, new way of delivering Nebraska athletics content and stories. Visit soon to experience the next evolution of Huskers sports coverage.
4 Huskers Joining the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame
Photo Credit: Nebraska Athletics

4 Huskers Joining the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame

July 27, 2017

After a career that saw him become the first Nebraska quarterback to top the 3,000-yard passing mark in a season, Zac Taylor is headed for the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame.

Taylor (2005-06) will join a group of former Huskers that includes defensive end Chad Kelsay (1995-98) and offensive linemen Donnie McGhee (1968-70) and Randy Theiss (1980-82) as part of the 2017 class.

Taylor threw for 5,850 yards and 45 touchdowns over the course of two seasons for Nebraska. In 2006, he was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year.

Kelsay was a first team All-Big 12 player and two-time champion with the Huskers, helping them to conference and national championships in 1995 and 1997. McGhee was an All-Big Eight guard on Nebraska’s initial national championship in 1970 while Theiss played a large role in the Huskers leading the country in scoring, total offense and rushing offense in 1982.

The class, sponsored by the Nebraska Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame, will be honored prior to the Huskers’ Sept. 16 game against Northern Illinois.

Tom and Rhonda Peed of Lincoln will also be recognized with the Clarence E. Swanson Meritorious Service Award while Nebraska athletic department administrators Chris Anderson and Pat Logsdon will be honored with the Lyell Bremser Special Merit Awards.

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.