Coming soon!

We're taking a short break while we put the finishing touches on a fresh, new way of delivering Nebraska athletics content and stories. Visit soon to experience the next evolution of Huskers sports coverage.
Huskers Announce 2018 Team Awards Voted on by Coaches
Photo Credit: Eric Francis

Huskers Announce 2018 Team Awards Voted on by Coaches, Media

December 05, 2018

On Tuesday, Nebraska announced a slew of 2018 team awards, three of which will be formally presented at the Outland Trophy Banquet in Omaha on Jan. 9.

First, wideout Stanley Morgan Jr., running back Devine Ozigbo and defensive lineman Mick Stoltenberg were named the recipients of three longtime senior awards.

Morgan was voted the recipient of the Guy Chamberlin Trophy by the media, given to the Husker “who has shown by his play and contributions to the betterment of the Nebraska football team that he has the qualities and dedication of Chamberlin to the Cornhusker tradition.”

The four-year wideout from Louisiana is leaving Nebraska with program records for yards in a season (twice), yards in a career, catches in a career and consecutive games with a catch.

Ozigbo earned the Tom Novak Award, also voted on by the media, which goes to the senior who “best exemplifies courage and determination despite all odds in the manner of Nebraska All-America center Tom Novak.”

Ozigbo entered the season amid a running back competition for snaps, but emerged as the clear-cut starter against Purdue on Sept. 29 when he ran for a career-high 170 yards on 17 carries. It was the first of five 100-yard performances from Ozigbo in the team’s final nine games, en route to the program’s first 1,000-yard rushing season since 2014.

Finally, Stoltenberg won the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award, presented by the coaching staff. Presented annually to the Husker who “best exemplifies the following qualities—good work ethic, competitiveness, leadership, forthrightness, sense of humor, pride, loyalty and love of Nebraska.”

Stoltenberg finished his Nebraska career with 69 total tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks, but his impact goes well beyond numbers. Stoltenberg was a key member of the Nebraska defensive line for four seasons and was named a team captain in his final year.

Next, Nebraska awarded “The Cornhusker” award to wideout Bryan Reimers, who caught six passes for 52 yards in 2018. The Cornhusker is given annually to a player who started their Nebraska career as a walk-on and made the largest contribution to the team in their last season of eligibility. Reimers was awarded a scholarship before the season began.

The Pat Clare Award, given “in recognition of the player who has best exemplified the commitment and courage to overcome injury, while at the same time serving as an inspiration to his teammates in his return to the field,” was awarded to senior linebacker Luke Gifford. Gifford entered his final year in Lincoln an unknown to the new coaches after a hip injury cost him the last two games of 2017 and the spring of 2018. He got healthy and stayed healthy, starting every game in 2018.

Ozigbo also was named Nebraska’s Lifter of the Year in a move that surprises absolutely no one. 

The Husker coaching staff also named players of the year at each respective position. Those winners are listed below,

  • Offensive MVP: Stanley Morgan Jr.
  • Defensive MVP: Mohamed Barry
  • Offensive Back: Adrian Martinez
  • Receiver: JD Spielman
  • Offensive Line: Jerald Foster
  • Defensive Line: Khalil Davis
  • Defensive Back: Dicaprio Bootle
  • Special Teams: Jeramiah Stovall
  • Offensive Scout: Wyatt Liewer
  • Defensive Scout: Ryan Schommer 

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.