Coming soon!

We're taking a short break while we put the finishing touches on a fresh, new way of delivering Nebraska athletics content and stories. Visit soon to experience the next evolution of Huskers sports coverage.
Huskers Recognize 2016 Team Award Winners
Photo Credit: Aaron Babcock

Huskers Recognize 2016 Team Award Winners

December 18, 2016

The Nebraska football team honored and recognized its 2016 team award winners at its season banquet at the Cornhusker Marriott in Lincoln on Sunday. The awards were presented to several members of the football team by head coach Mike Riley and his staff.

A couple of notable awards went to Jordan Westerkamp, Tommy Armstrong Jr., Josh Banderas and Sam Foltz. To start, Westerkamp was selected as the winner of the Guy Chamberlin Trophy, which is voted on by the media and given to a senior that embodies “the qualities and dedication of the great Cornhusker tradition.”

Armstrong was honored as the winner of the Tom Novak Trophy, which is one of the oldest Nebraska senior awards. Dating back to 1950, the award is “selected by a vote of media that cover Nebraska on a daily basis.” Armstrong set career records in passing yards, passing touchdowns, total offense and total touchdowns over his career as a Husker.

The Cletus Fischer Native Son Award was awarded to two Nebraska natives this year, which was extremely fitting. It is an award “given annually to a senior who is a Nebraska native and is named in
honor of long-time Nebraska offensive line coach Cletus Fischer.” This year’s recipients were Josh Banderas and Sam Foltz. Drew Brown accepted Foltz’s award on behalf of the Foltz family.

The Novak, Chamberlin and Native Son award winners will also be honored at the Outland Trophy ceremony in Omaha on Wednesday, Jan. 11.

2016 Nebraska Football Award Winners

Scout Team Defensive MVP: Pernell Jefferson, Collin Miller
Scout Team Offensive MVP: Tanner Lee, JD Spielman
Scout Team Special Teams MVP: Conor Young
Walk-on of the Year Award: Sam Hahn
Most Improved Player: Carlos Davis
Newcomer of the Year Award: Tre Bryant
Pat Clare Award: De’Mornay Pierson-El
Tom Novak Trophy: Tommy Armstrong Jr.
Guy Chamberlin Trophy: Jordan Westerkamp
Cletus Fischer Native Son Award: Josh Banderas, Sam Foltz
Lunch Bucket Award: Brad Simpson
Lifter of the Year: Luke McNitt
Husker Pride Award:
Sam Cotton

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.