It's a One-Week Season for Nebraska in Preparing for Minnesota
Photo Credit: Eric Francis

Martinez First Sophomore to Represent Huskers at Big Ten Media Days

July 08, 2019

Quarterback Adrian Martinez will be the first sophomore to represent Nebraska at Big Ten Media Days. Since the Huskers joined the Big Ten Conference in 2011, the team has sent only juniors and seniors to the pre-season event.

Martinez will be joined by senior linebacker Mohamed Barry and senior defensive lineman Khalil Davis. The three players will be in Chicago with Coach Scott Frost on July 18 and 19. 

Frost and the three players are scheduled to speak on Thursday, July 18. They'll join all 14 of the Big Ten's head football coaches and players to answer questions about the offseason, season expectations, and more.

All three of Nebraska’s selections were 2018 all-conference selections or honorable mentions. That includes honorable mention All-Big Ten from both the coaches and media for Martinez, third-team All-Big Ten by the media and honorable mention All-Big Ten for Barry and honorable mention All-Big Ten for Davis.

Here’s a look at who Nebraska has previously sent to Big Ten Media Days:

  • 2018: Mick Stoltenberg (Sr.), Jerald Foster (Sr.), Stanley Morgan (Sr.)
  • 2017: Chris Jones (Sr.), Tanner Lee (Sr.), Chris Weber (Sr.)
  • 2016: Tommy Armstrong Jr. (Sr.), Josh Banderas (Sr.), Jordan Westerkamp (Sr.) (Note: Nebraska ultimately did not attend the event after the death of Sam Foltz.)
  • 2015: Tommy Armstrong (Jr.), Nathan Gerry (Jr.), Jordan Westerkamp (Jr.)
  • 2014: Ameer Abdullah (Sr.), Kenny Bell (Sr.), Corey Cooper (Sr.)
  • 2013: Quincy Enunwa (Sr.), Ciante Evans (Sr.), Taylor Martinez (Sr.)
  • 2012: Rex Burkhead (Sr.), Will Compton (Sr.), Kyler Reed (Sr.)
  • 2011: Rex Burkhead (Jr.), Jared Crick (Sr.), Lavonte David (Sr.)


Here’s who will represent their teams at the 2018 Big Ten Media Days:


Coy Cronk, Sr., OL
Reakwon Jones, Sr., LB
Nick Westbrook, Sr., WR

Antoine Brooks Jr., Sr., DB*
Tino Ellis, Sr., DB*
Anthony McFarland Jr., So., RB*
Ben Bredeson, Sr., OG*
Jordan Glasgow, Sr., LB
Khaleke Hudson, Sr., LB*
Joe Bachie, Sr., LB*
Kenny Willekes, Sr., DE* (2018 Big Ten Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year)
Raequan Williams, Sr., DT*

Jonathon Cooper, Sr., DE*
Jordan Fuller, Sr., S*
K.J. Hill, Sr., WR*
Cam Brown, Sr., LB
Blake Gillikin, Sr., P
John Reid, Sr., CB*

Tyshon Fogg, Jr., LB
Tyreek Maddox-WIlliams, Jr., LB
Zach Venesky, Sr., OL

Reggie Corbin, Sr., RB*
Nate Hobbs, Jr., CB
Alex Palczewski, Jr., OT*
Michael Ojemudia, Sr., DB
Nate Stanley, Sr., QB
Toren Young, Jr., RB
Carter Coughlin, Sr., DL*
Mohamed Ibrahim, So., RB*
Tyler Johnson, Sr., WR*
Casey O’Brien, So., H#

Mohamed Barry, Sr., LB*
Khalil Davis, Sr., DL*
Adrian Martinez, So., QB*
Paddy Fisher, Jr., LB*
Joe Gaziano, Sr., DE*
Jared Thomas, Sr., C

Markus Bailey, Sr., LB*
Rondale Moore, So., WR* (2018 Big Ten Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year and Big Ten Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year)
Lorenzo Neal, Sr., DT*
Tyler Biadasz, Jr., C*
Chris Orr, Sr., LB
Jonathan Taylor, Jr., RB* (2018 Big Ten Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year)
* – indicates 2018 all-conference selections and honorable mentions
# – indicates Student Speaker at Kickoff Luncheon

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.

Hail Varsity January 2021 cover

Never Miss Another Issue

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap