Catching Up with the Coaching Class of 2015
Photo Credit: Aaron Babcock

Mike Riley Makes Coach-of-the-Year Watch List

October 31, 2016

Mike Riley is on the list for another coach-of-the-year award. With Nebraska ranked in the top 10 and at 7-1, Riley was one of 18 coaches named to the mid-season watch list for the Dodd Trophy, named after former Georgia Tech Coach Bobby Dodd.

Riley is one of four Big Ten coaches on the list, joining Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh, Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst and Ohio State’s Urban Meyer. Four previous winners for the Dodd Trophy are also on the list: Bob Stoops (Oklahoma, ’03), Chris Peterson (Washington, ’10), Dabo Swinney (Clemson, ’11) and Nick Saban (Alabama, ’14).

Strikes me as strange that Meyer hasn’t won this before, but, hey, it’s their trophy.

Other coaches on the watch list were: Larry Fedora (North Carolina), P.J. Fleck (Western Michigan), Bryan Harsin (Boise State), Dana Holgorsen (West Virginia), Mike MacIntyre (Colorado), Gus Malzahn (Auburn), Jim McElwain (Florida), Ken Niumatalolo (Navy), Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M) and Kyle Whittingham (Utah).

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.

Hurrdat Media Restaurant Hoppen podcast ad 300 x 600

Hail Varsity March 2023 Cover

Never Miss Another Issue