Nebraska Recruiting: New Questions Arising for College Football World
Photo Credit: Aaron Babcock

Mike Rucker, Danny Woodhead Headline Newest Six-Member Nebraska Hall of Fame Class

July 26, 2018

On Thursday, the Huskers announced a six-member class for induction into the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame, including four Huskers and two players from the state college ranks.

Long-time NFL standouts Mike Rucker, Kyle Larson and Danny Woodhead headline a group that will be honored with an induction dinner on Sept. 14 and an introduction inside Memorial Stadium before the Huskers kick off against Troy on Sept. 15.

A look at each member of the class:

  • Dan Schmidt (1974-76): Schmidt was a two-year starter and three-year letterman for the Big Red at guard for Coach Tom Osborne, as well as an honorable mention All-American as a senior. The 6-2, 222-pound, North Platte native was a member of Husker teams that went 28-8-1, including trips to the Sugar and Fiesta Bowls.
  • Bob Sledge (1986-88):  Sledge was a first-team All-Big Eight offensive tackle for the Huskers in 1988, when Nebraska led the nation in rushing and earned a conference title. In his three seasons on the field at Nebraska, the Huskers went 31-6 and played in Sugar, Fiesta and Orange bowls. 
  • Mike Rucker (1995-98): A rush end on Nebraska’s 1995 and 1997 national championship teams for Osborne, Rucker was a second-team All-Big 12 choice as a senior and an honorable-mention All-Big 12 choice as a junior. In 45 career games, Rucker recorded 17 sacks, 40 tackles for loss, five fumbles, four interceptions and 36 quarterback hurries. He was a second-round pick (38th overall) of the Carolina Panthers in the 1999 NFL Draft and spent nine seasons in Carolina, punctuated by a Super Bowl trip and Pro Bowl bid in 2003.
  • Kyle Larson (2001-03): One of the top punters in Nebraska football history, Larson claimed first-team All-American honors as a senior in 2003. A three-time All-Big 12 selection, Larson was one of three finalists for the Ray Guy Award in 2003. His 195 punts are still a program record and he’s one of only three Huskers to record an 80-yard punt. Larson played five seasons in the NFL with the Cincinnati Bengals. In typical Nebraska fashion, Larson began his Husker career as a walk-on.
  • Casey Beran (Chadron State, 1996-99): Beran was the first Chadron State Eagle in history to earn both All-America and CoSIDA Academic All-America honors in the same season. He was a three-time first-team All-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference selection and was named the RMAC Outstanding Defensive Player in 1999. Beran recorded 182 tackles, including a school-record 35 career sacks, despite missing most of his sophomore season with an ACL tear. Beran also has 11 rushing touchdowns to his name as a fullback in goalline packages. He was inducted into the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Hall of Fame in 2013, and in 2014 was named one of the top 12 defensive players in RMAC history.
  • Danny Woodhead (Chadron State, 2004-07): The two-time Harlon Hill Trophy winner (earning him an automatic spot in the Hall) and two-time NCAA Division II Player of the Year, Woodhead ended his career as the NCAA's all-time, all-division leading runner with 7,962 yards (7.0 yards per carry) and 101 rushing touchdowns. He averaged 181 rushing yards a game with 19 games of 200 yards or more. He also scored at least one touchdown in 37 consecutive games – an NCAA all-division record. At North Platte High School, Woodhead finished as the all-time leading rusher in Class A history with 4,891 yards from 2000 to 2003. Despite going undrafted, Woodhead appeared in 101 NFL games (14 starts) over nine years, playing in Super Bowl XLVI with the Patriots in 2012.
  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.

Cover image for gift guide

Find Gift Ideas for the Biggest Nebraska fans you know.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap