Photo Credit: Eric Francis

Domann, Taylor-Britt Lead Nebraska’s All-Big Ten Defensive Selections

November 30, 2021

On Tuesday morning the Big Ten Network released the Big Ten’s all-conference defensive teams and award winners. Both outside linebacker JoJo Domann and corner Cam Taylor-Britt were selected second-team All-Big Ten.

Domann saw his season end following the Ohio State game due to a hand injury, which needed surgery before it got worse. Domann still finished third on the defense in tackles with 72. The 6-foot-1, 230-pound nickel defender also racked up nine tackles for loss and two sacks. Domann was a versatile defender for defensive coordinator Erik Chinander’s unit and recorded three pass breakups and two interceptions.

This is Domann’s first all-conference accolade of his career. Both he and Taylor-Britt have accepted invitations to play in the Reese’s Senior Bowl.

After a slow start to the season, Taylor-Britt found a groove and turned into one of the better corners in the conference. The 6-foot, 197-pound Alabama native finished his junior campaign with 51 tackles and three for a loss. Taylor-Britt excelled at defending the pass and had a team-high 11 pass breakups—the teammate closest to Taylor-Britt was linebacker Luke Reimer with six PBUs.

This is Taylor-Britt’s second all-conference selection of his career, as he was a second-team pick by the coaches in 2020.

Both Domann and Taylor-Britt were instrumental to the Blackshirts’ improvement in 2021. The Huskers allowed just an average of 22.7 points per game, which was an improvement from last year’s average of 29.4. The pass defense was stingier, too, as Nebraska gave up just 29 passing plays of 20-plus yards—only Northwestern had fewer with 26. The Huskers gave up 13 passing plays of 20-yards or more, which was tied for third in the Big Ten. In terms of limiting 40-plus yards, the Huskers gave up only four on the season, which was tied for the fewest in the conference with Illinois.

Four other Huskers were tabbed honorable mention All-Big Ten by the media, including Damion Daniels, Luke Reimer, Ben Stille and Deontai Williams.

The Big Ten coaches selected five Huskers for honorable mention, including Daniels, Reimer, Stille, Williams and Marquel Dismuke.

Daniels was a key piece to the heart of the Nebraska defense. The Texas native recorded 33 tackles and two for a loss while taking on double teams. Reimer was Nebraska’s leading tackler with 108 stops on the year. He also chipped in with six tackles for a loss and had an interception against Buffalo that he nearly took back for a pick-six.

The super-senior Stille finished his sixth year with 46 tackles and six stops behind the line of scrimmage. While Williams didn’t play the final four games due to an injury sustained in Minnesota, he was one of the leaders of the defense and had 46 tackles and two for a loss to go along with a team-high four interceptions. Dismuke also finished with 46 tackles and had one interception.

The Big Ten will announce the all-conference selections for the offensive side of the ball on Wednesday.

Here are winner of the Big Ten postseason awards:

Big Ten Coach of the Year: Mel Tucker, Michigan State

Defensive Player of the Year: Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan

Linebacker of the Year: Leo Chanel, Wisconsin

Defensive Back of the Year: Riley Moss, Iowa

Kicker of the Year: Jake Moody, Michigan

Punter of the Year: Jordan Stout, Penn State

Return Specialist of the Year: Charlie Jones, Iowa


Here are all of Nebraska’s first-, second- or third-team All-Big Ten selections on defense since joining the conference in 2011.

2011Lavonte DavidLB1st Team1st Team
2011Alfonzo DennardDB11
2011Brett MaherK/P1/11/1
2012Eric MartinDL21
2012Baker SteinkuhlerDL2--
2012Will ComptonLB2--
2012Daimion StaffordDB21
2012Brett MaherK/P2/21/--
2013Randy GregoryDL11
2013Stanley Jean-BaptisteDB22
2013Ciante EvansDB22
2014Randy GregoryDL11
2014Maliek CollinsDL2--
2014Nathan GerryDB--2
2015Maliek CollinsDL23
2015Drew BrownK--2
2015Sam FoltzP11
2016Nathan GerryDB32
2018Mohamed BarryLB--3
2018Dicaprio BootleDB33
2019Khalil DavisDL3--
2019Lamar JacksonDB22
2020Cam Taylor-BrittDB2--
2020Connor CulpK11
2021JoJo DomannOLB22
2021Cam Taylor-BrittCB22

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.