Photo Credit: John S. Peterson

Nebraska Football Announces 2021 Team Award Winners

December 13, 2021

The Nebraska football team held its postseason award ceremony at a banquet Sunday night. Here’s a quick rundown of which Huskers won what.

Austin Allen won both the Guy Chamberlin Trophy and Offensive MVP honors. Allen, an Aurora, Nebraska, native who was the Big Ten Conference’s Tight End of the Year and a first-team all-conference pick, enjoyed the best season of his career in 2021 with school records in catches (38) and receiving yards (602) for a tight end. His 143 receiving yards at Wisconsin was a single-game record for tight ends at Nebraska.

The Guy Chamberlin Trophy dates back to 1967 and is presented to the senior player who has shown by his play and contributions to the betterment of the Nebraska football team that he has the qualities and dedication of Chamberlin to the Cornhusker tradition.

Nebraska nickel defender JoJo Domann won the Tom Novak Award and Defensive MVP after finishing third on the team in tackles with 72 in 10 games. Due to needing surgery on his injured hand, Domann’s season was cut short following the Ohio State game. The dynamic Domann was second in tackles for loss with nine and had two interceptions and two forced fumbles.

Established in 1950, the Novak Award is presented to the senior who “best exemplifies courage and determination despite all odds in the manner of Nebraska All-America center Tom Novak.”

Defensive lineman Ben Stille was the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award winner for the second season in a row. Stille, an in-state product from Ashland, Nebraska, racked up 42 tackles and six for a loss in his sixth year in a Husker uniform.

Receiver Levi Falck won The Cornhusker Award, given to a player who began their career as a walk-on. Falck, who began his career at FCS South Dakota, caught 18 passes for 223 yards and one touchdown for Nebraska in 2021. In two seasons as a Husker, Falck had 31 catches for 345 yards and two scores.

Allen, Domann, Stille and Falck will all be in attendance for the Outland Trophy banquet on Jan. 12 in Omaha.

Tight end Travis Vokolek and center Cam Jurgens shared the Boyd Epley Nebraska Lifter of the Year Award, an honor that dates back to 1974. This award is presented to a Husker player in recognition of his dedication, work ethic and commitment in the weight room. It’s named in honor of long-time Nebraska strength coach Boyd Epley.

Safety Deontai Williams won The Pat Clare Award for perseverance and determination to overcome injuries. Williams had 46 tackles and four interceptions before ultimately seeing his season end at Minnesota with a leg injury.

The Pat Clare Award is presented in recognition of the player who has best exemplified the commitment and courage to overcome injury, while at the same time serving as an inspiration to his teammates in his return to the field.

Here’s a list of Nebraska’s players of the year, which were chosen by the coaching staff:
Offensive MVP: Austin Allen, TE
Defensive MVP: JoJo Domann, Nickel
Offensive Back: Adrian Martinez, QB
Receiver: Samori Touré
Offensive Line: Cam Jurgens
Defensive Line: Damion Daniels
Linebacker: Luke Reimer and Nick Henrich
Special Teams: Phalen Sanford, DB
Offensive Scout of Year: Shawn Hardy, WR
Defensive Scout of Year: Blaise Gunnerson, OLB
Special Teams Scout of Year: Trevin Luben, RB

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap