Nebraska Football Names 5 Captains for 2017 Season
Photo Credit: Eric Francis

Nebraska Football Names 5 Captains for 2017 Season

August 26, 2017

Nebraska football announced five captains for 2017 on Saturday, one week before the Huskers open the season against Arkansas State. Safety Joshua Kalu (Sr.), offensive lineman Jerald Foster (Jr.), quarterback Tanner Lee (Jr.), fullback Luke McNitt (Sr.), and linebacker Chris Weber (Sr.) were selected by a vote of their teammates.

The group includes three Nebraskans – Foster (Lincoln), McNitt (Kearney) and Weber (Elkhorn) – the most in-state captains at Nebraska since 2011. The Huskers have had at least one Nebraskan as a captain for 12 straight seasons. Weber and McNitt are former walk-ons now on scholarship.

Lee earns captain status despite having yet to play a game for the Huskers. The Tulane transfer sat out the 2016 season under NCAA transfer rules, but was named one of Nebraska's offensive scout team MVPs.

Kalu is one of the most experienced players on the 2017 roster, appearing in 39 games over his first three seasons. He led the Huskers in 2016 with 11 pass breakups and ranked fifth on the team with 66 tackles as cornerback. Kalu made the move to safety in the spring.

Foster is one of four juniors presumed to start on the offensive line for Nebraska next week. He appeared in 14 games as a redshirt freshman in 2015 and the Huskers' final four games in 2016, missing the first nine with a knee injury.

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.