Five Bold Predictions on the Eve of Nebraska's 2019 Season
Photo Credit: John S. Peterson

Nebraska’s Scott Frost to be Inducted into Orange Bowl Hall of Fame

December 05, 2018

Scott Frost is heading for the Hall.

Nebraska announced Wednesday that head coach Scott Frost will be among a six-member class to be inducted into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame at this year’s Capital One Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida.

Frost quarterbacked Nebraska to a pair of Orange Bowl victories following the 1996 and 1997 seasons.  A 42-17 win over Tennessee in the 1998 Orange Bowl capped a perfect 13-0 season and secured Nebraska’s fifth national championship. The win also closed Tom Osborne’s coaching career with a third national championship.

Frost also led the 1996 Huskers to an Orange Bowl victory, defeating Virginia Tech 41-21 to close out the season with an 11-2 record. 

In his two Orange Bowl appearances, Frost ran for a total of five touchdowns. Only he and fellow Husker Johnny Rodgers have run for at least five scores in their Orange Bowl careers. 

Frost will be the 10th Nebraska player to be inducted into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame, joining Tommie Frazier, Irving Fryar, Turner Gill, Rich Glover, Ahman Green, Dave Rimington, Johnny Rodgers, Mike Rozier and Jerry Tagge. Nebraska also has two coaches in the Hall, Bob Devaney and Tom Osborne, who each won a pair of national championships with Orange Bowl wins. 

In the 2018 class, Frost will be joined by former Florida State defensive end Derrick Alexander, former Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops, former Alabama running back Shaun Alexander and former Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer.  

They will be honored at the annual AvMed Orange Bowl Coaches Luncheon on Friday, December 28 at Jungle Island in Miami the day before the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl. There will also be an on-field ceremony during the game on Dec. 29.

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.