Recruiting Recap: Huskers Ramp Up for Second Signing Day
Photo Credit: Aaron Babcock

Scott Frost Named Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year

December 14, 2017

Nebraska head coach Scott Frost is going to need to make room for one more Coach of the Year trophy in his office.

The coach that led Central Florida from winless in 2015 to unbeaten in 2017 beat out playoff-bound coaches in Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley, Georgia’s Kirby Smart and Clemson’s Dabo Swinney, among others, for the 2017 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. 

Frost is the first coach since Urban Meyer (Utah) in 2004 to win the award at a school outside the Power Five ranks, and the first to do it at a school not currently a member of a Power Five conference since Air Force’s Fisher DeBerry did it in 1985.

You know the story by now: the Knights were winless in 2015 before Frost’s arrival, in his first season they finished 6-7 with a berth in the AutoNation Cure Bowl and in 2017 they won the American Athletic Conference while boasting a nation-leading 49.4 points per game.

“Scott Frost is one of the up-and-coming coaches in college football,” 2017 FWAA President Dave Jones said in a release. “What he did at UCF was nothing short of remarkable in just two seasons.”

It's the second Coach of the Year award he's received so far, after winning the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, and he is also a finalist for the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

Frost will be presented the award, given annually by the Football Writers Association of America, on Jan. 6, at the Sheraton Atlanta Hotel in conjunction with the College Football Playoff National Championship.

He will coach one final game for Central Florida at the Chick-fil-a Peach Bowl in Atlanta, Georgia, on Jan. 1, when his tenth-ranked Knights play No. 7 Auburn.

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap