Eric Crouch to be Inducted into Nebraska Athletics Hall of Fame
Photo Credit: Aaron Babcock

Three Huskers Land on 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

June 04, 2018

Three former Huskers are among 76 FBS players on the ballot for the 2019 class for the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, the Hall announced Monday.

Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Eric Crouch headlines a trio that also includes a pair of Outland Trophy-winning offensive linemen in Zach Wiegert and Larry Jacobson.

It's Crouch's eighth time on the ballot, Weigert's fourth and Jacobson's first appearance. The 2019 class will be announced on Monday, Jan. 7, in Santa Clara, California, on the day of the College Football Playoff championship game.

If Crouch were to be inducted, he'd join Tommie Frazier (2013 class) as the only other Husker quarterback in the Hall. 

Crouch became Nebraska's third Heisman Trophy winner in 2001 after leading the Huskers to the national title game. The Nebraska native set the NCAA record for career rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 59 and racked up 7,915 yards of total offense in his career. He was a consensus All-American in 2001, won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Davey O'Brien Award and the Sporting News Offensive Player of the Year award. His No. 7 jersey was retired by Nebraska in 2002.

Wiegert was a 1994 unanimous first-team All-American and one of eight Huskers to win the Outland Trophy. He was a member of the 1994 title-winning team and the 1993 team that played for another title. In an award that has historically been reserved for offensive superstars, Weigert actually finished tied for ninth in Heisman voting in 1994. His No. 72 jersey was retired before the 1995 season.

Jacobson appeared on Nebraska’s first national title teams in 1970 and 1971. He was a consensus first-team All-American in 1971 when he won the Outland Trophy (the program’s first major award winner). During his three seasons at Nebraska, the Huskers won 33 of their 36 games, won three conference crowns and back-to-back national titles. His No. 75 jersey was retired in 1994.

  • Never miss the latest news from Hail Varsity!

    Join our free email list by signing up below.